Blogger news


Friday, November 23, 2012

Rebel Heart by Moira Young

Title: Rebel Heart(Dust Lands #2)
Author: Moira Young
Published by:   Margaret K. McElderry
Genre: YA,Romance, Dystopia,
Favorite Quote:“All the time I’ve knowed you, Jack, you kept the door to that heart of yers locked up tight an the key hid away. Looks like she found it.
He says nothing. Molly waits. Then:
Keys ain’t her style, he says. She kicked the door down.”
Blurb:It seemed so simple: Defeat the Tonton, rescue her kidnapped brother, Lugh, and then order would be restored to Saba’s world. Simplicity, however, has proved to be elusive. Now, Saba and her family travel west, headed for a better life and a longed-for reunion with Jack. But the fight for Lugh’s freedom has unleashed a new power in the dust lands, and a formidable new enemy is on the rise.

What is the truth about Jack? And how far will Saba go to get what she wants? In this much-anticipated follow-up to the riveting Blood Red Road, a fierce heroine finds herself at the crossroads of danger and destiny, betrayal and passion.
My Review:
Wow...just just wow...what did I just read???????? There is no really good way to start this review so I'm going to just jump right into it! This book definitely has a darker tone than the first book so for those of you that are looking for more of the same-you're not getting it. I don't mean that in a bad way though, there are some key aspects to this book that I really enjoyed. One was the character development of Saba, Saba makes mistakes in this book but you can see her growing from them, also I really love that everything that Saba has a consequence. Its not like she learns from her mistake and they suddenly leave her, they all come and bite her in the ass eventually which is something I can appreciate.

Another awesome aspect to this book was the supporting characters. These aren't just characters that were made to push the story along these are characters with their own set of problems that make them unique and special   which makes me love the book that much more. Also the supporting characters get a lot more depth in this book( like Tommo), the new sides to these supporting characters really enrich the book for me.  

Though I will admit there is one thing I hated about this book...LUGH .  Every time his annoying self shows up         ( which is quite often mind you) I go looking for the nearest wall and bang my hand against it!! I think everyone who has read this book will tell you that Lugh is horrible,  arrogant, self centered, and he thinks he is always right EVEN WHEN HE'S NOT. 

Anyway, other than Lugh,my only other problem was that I wish there was more Jack! He is a big part of the plot but he hardly shows up, hopefully in the next book that wouldn't be the case.

 One reason some people might not like this book is because of the love triangle(more like a square really), but I honesty think it adds to the darker tone of the book and it makes for an interesting plot! Now believe I hate love triangles as much as the next girl, but I've actually found one of the rare books that does love triangles justice.    

Rating: 4 Roses 

Wednesday, November 21, 2012


Hello my fellow book lovers!!!! I'm sorry for being gone for so long I've had to save up money to buy a new computer since the old one broke, but  as the title of the post says: I'm back and  ready to review! I'll have a review very VERY soon but please leave comments if there is a specific book you want me to review!

Have a wonderful night( or day) everyone!

Monday, August 6, 2012

Eye Candy Monday{4} Etienne St Clair

This week's Eye Candy is from the AMAZING book Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. For those of you who have read this book I'm sure you know how wonderful Etienne is!

  • He is short{ as in very short...}
  • He he has amazing hair
  • He is a history buff
  • He has a British accent 

Quotes from Etienne St Clair: 
“A moment of reserve. "That was it? The whole story?"
"Yes. God, you're right. That was pants."
I sidestep another aggressive couscous vendor. "Pants?"
"Rubbish. Crap. Shite."
Pants. Oh heavens, that's cute.” 

“Most people in Atlanta don't have an accent. It's pretty urban. A lot of people speak gangsta, though," I add jokingly. 
"Fo' shiz," he replies in his polite English accent. 
I spurt orangey-red soup across the table. St. Clair gives a surprised ha-HA kind of laugh, and I'm laughing too, the painful kind like abdominal crunches. He hands me a napkin to wipe my chin. "Fo'. Shiz." He repeats it solemnly.
Cough cough. "Please don't ever stop saying that. It's too-" I gasp. "Much."
"You oughtn't to have said that. Now I shall have to save it for special occasions."
"My birthday is in February." Cough choke wheeze. "Please don't forget.” 

“Har. Bloody. Har."
He smiles. "Oh, I see. Known me less than a day and teasing me about my accent. What's next? Care to discuss the state of my hair? My height? My trousers?"
Trousers. Honestly.” 

For those of you that have not read this book, what are you still doing here?? GO GET IT!

Sunday, August 5, 2012

In my Mailbox{2}

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

Books I'm reading:
Blurb: The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University's Walking One-Night Stand. 

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

This book is a re-read for me, because I've been having a contemporary romance fetish  this week great book 5 roses for sure!!!

Blurb: Being a trained killer, Kala can handle most things the world throws at her. However, when she murders her fiance, Kala's life is thrown into chaos. Forced to leave everything behind, she runs from city to city, in fear of her psychotic boss who is seeking her death. If that wasn't enough, she also has to cope with the re-appearance of her dead fiance who is struggling to keep a hold on his sanity as he strives for revenge.

This book has been hard for me to read I can't really get into it, but I'll try again soon since I promised the author a review!

This is this week's In My Mailbox! 

Wednesday, August 1, 2012


Title: Underneath
Author: Michael Cargill
Published by: Smashwords {E- book format}
Genre: Thriller, Suspense , Indie
Favorite Quote: Robert inhaled the first square of his bacon sandwich.  He chewed it slowly and
deliberately, savouring and analysing every morsel.  He swallowed, nodded and then grinned
with satisfaction.
“That’s a damn good bit of bacon sandwiching they’ve got going on here.  They should
advertise it or something, they would make a bloody killing, I swear to God,” he said.
Clare took a sip of her coffee.  “Is there such a thing as a bad bacon sandwich?  There
isn’t much that goes into them.”
Robert looked at her as if she had just blasphemed.  “Are you insane, woman?  There’s a
heck of a lot of thought that goes into a good bacon sandwich.  The bread has to be good and
fresh.  The bacon has to be decent and thick.  And no butter either, or it just melts and goes
all over your fingers.”

Blurb: Look at the person sitting just across from you. It doesn’t matter whether they’re a loved one, a friend, or a complete stranger.

Now look at their face. Are they happy? Are they sad? Or are they angry? Can you even tell?

How well do you actually know the people closest to you?

Have you ever seen the real person that lies just underneath what you see…?

My Review:
Hi my viewers! A note quick note as always: This book was given to me by the author for an honest review.

This book is more like a novella than a novel, only having 16 chapters.You have three main characters: Hugo, and two "coppers" Robert and Clare all told in third person. Hugo do I explain Hugo?  Crazy, deranged, psycho?I'm sure there are a bunch of scientific disorders for Hugo, but let's just leave it at this: you won't get bored reading about him. It's very interesting to go through Hugo's world: one minute he is happy go-lucky and in a split second he is in a murderous rage, you really never know what he is going to do next. Now let's talk about the good guys in this story: Robert and Clare. Robert is your "clown" of the story, he has the funny lines as you can see from the quote above. Clare however, is the more serious of the two but don't think that Robert is not a good cop: both are dedicated and good at their jobs. I think their part in this story is very obvious so I won't really go in to it.

This book was very fast-paced, a little too fast for my taste. By the time I finished the book I was wishing for more chapters. This is the biggest reason I'm not giving this book 5 stars, I really feel like if he made the story longer he could really flesh these characters and still keep the fast pace. Also I was sad that Hugo didn't creep me out! I meant he was weird but I didn't feel goosebumps and shiver when I read about him.
Don't let these little things stop you though, it was a great read I totally recommend it!


Interview with Elizabeth Guizzetti

  Elizabeth Guizzetti author of Other Systems

Prior to becoming an author, Elizabeth Guizzetti worked as an artist. She created the graphic novels, Faminelands and Lure, and the comic book series Out for Souls & Cookies. Other Systems is her first published novel. She currently lives in Seattle, WA with her husband and two dogs.

Beza- What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Elizabeth Guizzetti- There was two really hard parts while writing Other Systems. The first one was writing and then editing Abby’s forced breeding scene and confinement. I tried to get through it as quickly as possible.

The second hard part occurred when I was working on Chapter 28. Not trying to sound crazy, but as clear as day, Mark said, “No, I wouldn’t do this. Write me out of the story if you have to, but I will not do it. I would run.” So I gave it some thought, cursed him for his ethics, and then rewrote the chapter. Of course then I had to rewrite every chapter that followed. The best part about all this rewriting was how much the characters surprised me and more realistic everyone became.
Beza- What books influenced your life the most?

Elizabeth Guizzetti- Now that's a bit of a tricky question, because nearly everything I have ever read influenced my life in different ways. I could tell you stories about how I used to pretend I was a member of The Baby Sitter's Club when I was a lonely ten year old, but don't worry, I won't.  

Stephen King’s The Stand made me want to be an author. I felt I could write the stories I wanted to write, because he wrote the stories he liked. 

JRR Tolkien's Lord of the Rings. This is the first trilogy that I did battle to finish it.

Frank Herbert’s Dune. This is the first novel, I just didn't get right away, but instead of putting it down, I reread it. Then listened to it. That's when the understanding happened. 

Now on to the religious tomes: The Bible--  whether for religious reasons or just pure research I honestly feel EVERY American author should read the Bible to help understand western literature. I read the NIV translation--it took me nine months. 

Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged-- the ideals shown are a call to a certain way of life. There are people (at least in America) who have chosen this as their way of life. So while this is a novel, it is also a religion. 

Beza-  What book are you reading right now?

Elizabeth Guizzetti- Red Leaves and the Living Token by Benjamin David Burrel

Beza- If your book was made into a movie who would play the main character?

Elizabeth Guizzetti- I am going to level with you since I’m over thirty, I don’t really know any eighteen to twenty actresses so I’ve literally no idea who would play Abby, but the two second most important characters are Harden and Helen. Adrien Brody would play Harden. Famke Janssen would be an excellent Helen.

Beza-  Why did you decide to make Abby Chinese?

Elizabeth Guizzetti- One of the very first chapters I wrote was Abby’s escape from the DePauls. As I began typing the first draft, she prayed to her dad. Not just thinking of her dad, but believe that her father's spirit might be able to find her and help her in some way. So I started with considering which cultures believed in ancestor worship. I imagined her thinking of her baby whom she named after her mother and knew the name Lei. (Lei translates to Blossom) Then Abby just was who she was. 

Beza- What made you think of a place like Kipos?

Elizabeth Guizzetti-  Human beings are fragile, so Kipos had to be an Earth-like planet. I picked out a star that was pretty close to being a Sol-twin. Then I had to begin thinking of difference so I considered that perhaps on Kipos birds never evolved and thought about what could hurt us. Since everything would be foreign to the human body, allergies would be a huge killer. 

Once the practical matters of survival (breathing, food, etc) a colony needs to be breeding in order to survive. The rest of it was considering some of inhumane practices in our own history.

Beza- Are you in the process of writing another book?

Elizabeth Guizzetti- I’m in the process of writing a novel with the working title The Martlet about elfin assassins who practice necromancy on the side

Beza- Do you have anything specific you want to say to your readers?

Elizabeth Guizzetti-Just that I appreciate everyone who checks out Other Systems and hope you enjoy the story. Or even if you don't enjoy it, it gets in your brain.

Waiting on Wednesday {4} Mind Games

A_Black_and_White_Cartoon_Woman_Pulling_on_Her_Hair_In_Frustration_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_110103-157001-191053This week's book is Mind Games by Kiersten White.
When I saw this cover:           

This was my face:  
I mean just look at it isn't it awesome??? But it's not just the cover that looks amazing but the story too! Here is the blurb:
Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. 

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

This book comes out in 2013 :C. Anybody got a time machine so I can go into the future and get this book?

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Alex Teves


 Shooting victim Alex Teves recently earned his master's degree in counseling psychology from the University of Denver.

Tom Teves, Alex's father, confirmed his son's death to ABC News. A message left for Tom Teves by the Denver Post has not been returned.

Friends of Teves, 24, began posting on social media Friday night after learning Teves was among the 12 people killed in the Aurora movie theater shootings.

A friend, identified only as Caitlin on Twitter, posted messages on the social media network early Friday from the Century 16 theater, and wrote on Twitter early Saturday that Teves was, "One of the best men I ever knew. The world isn't as good a place without him." She also described Teves as a fan of the University of Arizona and Spider-Man.

An email message to Caitlin has not been returned.
A University of Denver spokeswoman said Teves, from Phoenix, Ariz., graduated in June. The University officially notified its students and faculty of Teves' death Saturday afternoon.

R.I.P Alex Teves 

AJ Boik


Authorities have confirmed that Alexander Jonathan (AJ) Boik was killed during Friday's movie theater shooting.
Boik's family released the following statement Saturday:

AJ Boik was a wonderful, handsome and loving eighteen year old young man with a warm and loving heart. He graduated from Gateway High School this year, where he had many friends.

He enjoyed his friends and family and always brought a smile and quick wit to every occasion. He was a talented young man who enjoyed baseball, making pottery and music. He was accepted at the Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design where he planned on attending classes in the fall. After completing college his dream was to become an art teacher and open his own studio. He was dating a beautiful young lady who was with him at the time and we are blessed that she survived this incident.

AJ was loved by all that knew him. We want to try and focus on the beautiful lives that were ended and not the evil that is responsible. This is a time for us to remember our loved ones and cherish the memories we have of them.

During this difficult time we ask that our family's privacy be respected. We are trying to move through this horrible ordeal. Our thoughts, prayers and love goes out to the other families of the victims and all those who have been touched by this senseless tragedy.
Donations in honor of AJ Boik can be made to the AJ Boik Memorial Fund at any Wells Fargo Bank branch.
R.I.P. AJ Boik

Eye Candy Monday{4} Simon Lewis

Even though I'm on team Jace if I had to pick a real life boyfriend I would pick Simon over Jace. He is your boy next door who will always be there for you no matter what you need. He is extremely loyal to his friends and family and will do anything for them: which is why I picked him for this week's Eye Candy Monday.

Simon Lewis: 

  • He plays bass guitar
  • His family is Jewish
  • 16 years old
  •  Vegetarian
  • He is a complete geek 
  • Brown hair and eyes

Quotes from Simon:
  • “Jesus!" Luke exclaimed.
    "Actually, it's just me," said Simon. "Although I've been told the resemblance is startling.” 

  • “Pretty soon the only people left without a girlfriend will be me and Wendell the school janitor, and he smells like windex."
    "At least you know he's still available.” 

  • “Hey," said Jace. who was sitting on an overturned speaker, looking at his cellphone, "do you want to see a photo of Alec and Magnus in Berlin?"
    "Not really," said Simon.
    "Magnus is wearing lederhosen."
    "And yet, still no.” 
  • “Thank you,” Simon said. “It’s a joke, Isabelle. He’s the Count. He likes counting. You know. ‘What did the Count eat today, children? One chocolate chip cookie, two chocolate chip cookies, three chocolate chip cookies . . .’”

    There was a rush of cold air as the door of the restaurant opened, letting in another customer. Isabelle shivered and reached for her black silk scarf. “It’s not realistic.”

    “What would you prefer? ‘What did the Count eat today, children? One helpless villager, two helpless villagers, three helpless villagers . . .” 
I know they already picked a different guy for Simon for next year's movie but I think Logan Lerman is a much better pick! What do you guys think?

In My Mailbox{1}

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

This is a meme I'm going to try! Basically I'm going to write about all the books I'm reading\ going to read. 

Book I'm reading: 
 Blurb: Look at the person sitting just across from you. It doesn’t matter whether they’re a loved one, a friend, or a complete stranger.

Now look at their face. Are they happy? Are they sad? Or are they angry? Can you even tell?

How well do you actually know the people closest to you?

Have you ever seen the real person that lies just underneath what you see…?

I'm 60.8 % done with the book and I'm liking it so far! Expect a review soon.

 The Book I'll be reading soon:
Blurb:Being a trained killer, Kala can handle most things the world throws at her. However, when she murders her fiance, Kala's life is thrown into chaos. Forced to leave everything behind, she runs from city to city, in fear of her psychotic boss who is seeking her death. If that wasn't enough, she also has to cope with the re-appearance of her dead fiance who is struggling to keep a hold on his sanity as he strives for revenge

This sounds really good!! I'm expecting a kick-ass heroine !!!

Jon Blunk

The boss of one of the victims of the movie theater shooting said his employee was more than stellar.
Mark Kvidera says Jon Blunk was one of his best workers. He said Blunk was always 30 minutes early, so when he didn't show up to work on Friday, Mark knew something was wrong.

"The day before he was talking about going to see this movie," Kvidera said. "We didn't know where."

Kvidera's worst fears were confirmed by the woman who Jon was at the movies with.

"She said he basically covered her and pushed her down to save her and basically saved her life," Kvidera said. "Jon is the kind of guy that would save [someone]. It doesn't matter who is in harm's way, he is going to save them [and] protect them."

Blunk worked for Kvidera at his small flooring company. He says Blunk could light up a room.

"[He was] one of the kind of guys that walks into the shop everyday with a big smile on his face and brightens the atmosphere," Kvidera said.

Like many people in the community, Kvidera is trying to figure out a way to help those who are suffering. So, he's set up a Memorial Fund for Jon's children.

"He would have done it for any of his coworkers," Kvidera said. "He would have done it for anybody else."

Kvidera said Blunk was taking off Monday and Tuesday of next week to fly back to Reno to see his two-year-old and four-year-old.

"All he was talking about was going home to see his two kids, and then this happens," Kvidera said. "It's tragic."

If you'd like to make a donation to the Memorial Fund you can do so at any Wells Fargo locations in Jon Blunk's name.

R.I.P John Blunk 

Saturday, July 28, 2012

2012 London Olympic opening

Yesterday was the Olympic opening in London and it was amazing! For those of you who didn't watch it you missed out! My favorite part of the opening had to be when the Arctic Monkeys{ one of my favorite bands} played Come Together by the Beatles. What were your favorite parts of the ceremony? Leave comments below!

Jesse Childress

From 9news- The Air Force says a reservist was among the victims killed in the shootings at a Colorado movie theater.

An Air Force statement released Saturday said 29-year-old Staff Sgt. Jesse Childress was among the 12 killed when a gunman opened fire early Friday in a crowded theater in Aurora, Colo.

Childress was a cyber-systems operator at Buckley Air Force Base.

The Air Force says another reservist was treated and released after being wounded at the shootings.

I'm very sorry what happened to you and thank you for your service .

R.I.P. Jesse Childress

Friday, July 27, 2012

Other Systems

Title: Other Systems
Author:  Elizabeth Guizzetti
Published by: 48Fourteen {e-book only}
Genre: Sci-fi, Adult{or older\mature YA},
Favorite Quote: Cole said, " Two granddaughters without having to change a single diaper. This is the best fucking day of my life."
Blurb: Ten large ships race toward Earth, broadcasting in every language: "Brothers and sisters, we come in peace and in need. We have found our way home." The fear of a coming invasion begins the worldwide riots of 3062. 

Yet, not all Earthlings fear attack. The newcomers, long lost descendants of Earth, speak of a paradise ninety-four light years away. Kipos is a land of plenty where there has never been hunger, murder, or war. However, they need more healthy young immigrants for the colony to thrive.

Many accept their offer to be tested. After assessment, Abby Boyd Lei is among the chosen. She leaves the protection of her family with dreams of higher education, a good job, and a kind-hearted spouse.

Will Kipos be everything she imagined? Abby is about to discover the cost of utopia.

My Review:
This book was given to me by the author for an honest review. 
Wow! This book is really intense, I was expecting a YA book with a light fluffy story about space. Boy was I wrong! This book deals with topics such as rape, and homosexuality, there is also a lot of cussing in this book. I would not recommend it for a younger reader, or a reader who has not reading mature books.

Abby  is timid and scared and I got easily frustrated with her, but then I realized that after such a traumatizing experience I can't expect her to be  100% normal. As the story goes along she becomes more confident and more fun to read. As for the romance... there isn't one!
Its such a relief  to find a sci-fi book that's not all about romance! I mean don't get me wrong I love romance book as much as the next girl, but its nice to have the book  be all about Abby and her struggles on this new planet than about Abby and her romantic life. It's also really nice because instead of Abby finding a guy and living happily ever after she finds something even better- a family. Don't except a happily ever after in this book, the people that go to Kipos will forever have to live with their consequences but things will get better and sometimes that's all you can ask for. 

Rating: 4 Roses 

I will have an interview with Author Elizabeth Guizzetti up soon! 

Matt McQuinn

Matt McQuinn died saving his girlfriends life in that Aurora movie theater. Luckily she only has an  injury and is recovering in the hospital. I don't know much about him which is why this one will be so short but I hope his girlfriend heals and is able to move on from this trauma. May you rest in peace Matt McQuinn.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

John Larimer

John Larimer was one of the serive members that was killed in the Aurora shooting. He was a 27-year-old Navy sailor. This killing is espically sading to me  because as a sailor, you know there is a big possiblity of you dieing on forgein soil for your country, but intead you die on home land by a person you risked your life for so he had the freedom to buy the gun he shot you with."He was an outstanding shipmate, a valued member of our Navy team, and an extremely dedicated sailor," Cmdr. Jeffrey Jakuboski said of Larimer.{}

Rest In Peace John Larimer, and thank you for your service.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Micayla Medek

This woman was only 23 when she died from the injures she got from the shooting. 23! She was in college still and so much to look forward too. Job, husband, kids, and its been all taken away from her. It was her dream to go to India, she was saving money to take a trip there. She was described as a very independent soul and even though she was the youngest of three she was determined to make her own way. This something that her father said that really sticks with me:  After Medek went missing, her parents waited for news all day Friday -- torture for Greg Medek, 49, who paced the house thinking about his baby, "my sweetheart angel girl," a brown-eyed brunet with an open face who loved Hello Kitty, hot pink, fairies and boas and Beanie Babies.{,0,6979871.story}

I pray that her family and friends can move on from their grieve and I hope the shooter regrets taking such a beautiful from us.Micayla Medek

Waiting on Wednesday{3} The Indigo Spell

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)   
IT HAS A COVER!!!!!!!!! I can't cannot wait for this book to come out!!! I'm going to kill Richelle Mead for leaving us with us a horrible cliffhanger. I really don't know if I can wait until 2013 for this book!!! The minute this book comes out I'm racing to the nearest book store and reading this book. I know this Waiting on Wednesday post is all gushy and random  but I can't help it this is one of my favorite series! I'm TOTALLY team Adrain which is why the cliffhanger really killed me. What do you guys think of this book? Are you guys as excited as I am? Leave some comments below!

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Jessica Ghawi

Jessica Ghawi 
Jessica Ghawi's, who was one of the victims of this tragedy, last words was in the form  of a tweet:

For Ghawi, a 24-year-old aspiring sportscaster who worked under the name Jessica Redfield, the public words in those last minutes are her bantering with a magazine hockey writer about being among the first to see the highly anticipated Batman movie, "The Dark Knight Rises."

"You aren't seeing it tonight?!" Ghawi asks Sporting News hockey writer Jesse Spector on Twitter.

"Nope," he replies.

Ghawi then jokes that Spector is a loser, and he retorts that that's why she's tweeting and not at the movie. Ghawi replies with her final tweet, in all caps: "MOVIE DOESN'T START FOR 20 MINUTES." It was, though she of course didn't realize it, her last public statement. {}

The one thing that stood out to me, and the one thing I will remember her by is the beautiful words her brother said about her: "My sister is a fighter... she's listened to her heart," Ghawi said. "I want people to remember that heart and remember the good things that she's done; remember that smile and what her possibilities, what her prospectives, what she could have done in the future." {}

R.I.P Jessica Ghawi, may we all remember you by your fighting spirit and beautiful smile.

Monday, July 23, 2012

Ray East(Author of Voluspa-A Magical World) Guest Post

Why write a book like ‘Voluspa – A Magical World’? Like countless other teenage girls, I had a difficult time during my pre-teen and early teen years. I had major body issues and even suffered with eating disorders. During these years, I often fantasized about escaping to an alternate universe where I could start life afresh or find acceptance. My imagination was further fuelled by the countless number of books I devoured growing up, especially since they were my only constant companions. Thus when the time came to put words down to paper, I found myself creating a fantasy world – a place so magical that it had the power to heal even the most troubled souls.

Talking about troubled souls, the main two protagonists of my story, Amy and Drake, definitely fit the bill. Amy has a hard childhood, feeling unwanted and unloved whereas Drake’s childhood is shadowed by impossibly high expectations imposed on him by his father. The two meet when Amy crosses over realms to land up in Voluspa and they connect from the very beginning. They find a kindred spirit in each other and like two halves of a whole, they complete each other. But their relationship is taboo as per the law in Voluspa. One of the questions that this book subtly puts forward is whether individual freedom is sacrosanct or should it take a backseat when it comes to greater good of the land and people. This story also puts a new spin on the age old battle between good and evil. Circumstances force both Amy and Drake to do certain things which one could consider a touch shy of evil. But at no time does their love for each other diminish and whatever they do is born out of a need to protect or help the other.

One could say that this is a story of two star crossed lovers set against a magical backdrop of an enchanted land. However, the world of Voluspa in not a Utopic one; like most known civilizations it has its own problems. Despotic leaders, wars, arbitrate laws; all weave themselves to create a rich tapestry of life that forms the backdrop of this story. The story borrows from mythology to give it an authentic tone. It is multi layered and I believe would appeal to a broad spectrum of age.

At present I am working on the next book in the Voluspa series. This book finds a changed Drake. His ordeals with Lord Vali has changed him permanently and no matter how much he wishes, there is no going back for him. He is now faced with the challenge of carving out a new life for himself away from Voluspa, away from Amy. But Amy is not one to accept loosing Drake so easily; she is determined to save Drake no matter what the cost. Now that the secret of her birth is out, she also has to contend with the wrath of the council members. In the meantime Lord Vali continues with his quest to resurrect his demonic leader using Drake and the book. To find out what happens to Amy and Drake and their forbidden love wait for the next book in Voluspa – A Magical World.

Alex Sullivan

Alex Sullivan is one of the twelve victims to die in the century 16 shooting. Alex was out watching "The Dark Knight Rises" to celebrate his 27th birthday.“Oh man one hour till the movie and its going to be the best BIRTHDAY ever,” is what Sullivan tweeted right before the premiere. "The Sullivan family lost a cherished member of their family today,Alex was smart, funny, and above all loved dearly by his friends and family." said the family. Whats even worse is that two days after Sullivan died, he was planning to celebrate his one year with his wife Cassandra. 
I know this is not anything special and does not even tell half of his story but I'm grieving and praying for his family,  and anyone else who is suffereing the lose of this great man I don't know what its like to lose someone this close to you but I just want to say that Aurora is completely behind this family, ready to hello them whenever they need it.

If you want to read more on Alex Sullivan:

Eye Candy Monday{3} Adrian Ivashkov

This week's eye candy is one of my favorite characters in one of my favorite series! This week's Eye Candy is Adrian Ivashkov from the Bloodlines series. He may seem like a typical bad boy but inside he is caring and loving: he just needs to find the right girl to open that side of him...

Adrain Ivashkov:

  • He can dream-walk.                                                  
  • He has brown hair and deep green eyes
  • He was in love with Rose Hathaway 
  • Around 6-2
  • Comes from money and is an artist 
  •  He is Moroi 
  • From a royal family 

Quotes from Adrain:

  • “You've asked me out tons of times."
"Not really. I've made inappropriate suggestions and frequently pushed for nudity. But I've never asked you out on a real date.”

  • “I know how devastated you must be to miss me, but leave a message, and I'll try to ease your agony” 

  • “My God, Sage. Your eyes. How have I never noticed them?"

That uncomfortable feeling was spreading over me again. "What about them?"

"The color," he breathed. "When you stand in the light. They're amazing... like molten gold. I could paint those..." He reached toward me but then pulled back. "They're beautiful. You're beautiful.”

What do you think about this week's Eye Candy Monday? Leave comments below!

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Aurora Shooting

As I'm writing this I'm about to cry a river. I'm sure many of you have heard of the shooting that happened in the century 16 movie theater in Aurora, Colorado. This is my  home town and it really is hitting me hard, this is a place me and my friends go to hang out for years its really like a landmark for the people of Aurora and is such a shock for all of us.  So in honor of the victims,  starting tomorrow for the next 12 days I will be doing posts in memory of the victims that have died in this tragedy, one day for each victim. I will be putting these posts on goodreads and twitter as well. I would love if you would help me spread the message but if you don't that's also fine with me.
May you all have a amazing day,

VOLUSPA- A Magical World

Title: Voluspa: A Magical World
Author: Sam D & Ray East 
Published by: Self Published 
Genre:YA, Fantasy, Romance
Favorite Quote: " Every time she had found refuge in some book...Almost always she would get so absorbed in the plot or characters of the book that she would block out the reality"
Blurb: Harry Potter meets Divergent.
Amy, a forlorn fifteen year old girl from NYC, never thought that she would attend school on a magical mountain with wild animals as her classmates and that she would go to a prom on a flying carpet. Its love at first sight when Drake- a shape shifter rescues her from a pre-historic beast and befriends her. Little does she know that Drake’s father is the tyrannical leader who has always wanted Amy and her kind dead. In her struggle to challenge the supremacy in the magical world, she realizes her powers, confronts aspects about herself that she may not be comfortable with, makes lasting friends while excelling in her school - something which she had not been able to do in her human world. All hell breaks loose, as Drake goes missing and Voluspan mercenaries try to hunt Amy down. Amy and her friends use strategic warfare, pit adversaries among themselves and use every last drop of strength, skill and courage as they take on warriors far more ruthless and skilled than themselves. But Amy is in for a rude shock when she finally finds Drake.

My Review:
This book was given to me by Ray East in exchange for an honest review.
The main character Amy just lost her step father and goes to live with her grandmother. When she is at her grandmother's she finds a book that transports her to another realm called Voluspa, and this is where all the adventure starts...

Cover: I really dislike the cover for this book! It makes the book look like its for middle schoolers  rather than for young adults. However I'm really glad Ray asked to review this book because I probably would not have read the book other wise{ I know I know don't judge a book by its cover, but I can't help it!}

Amy is fifteen and at first its really hard to forget that. Espescally since Drake is 17. But as the story goes along Amy starts acting older and more mature I forget that her and Drake are 3 years apart. Its not just that she acts older, when she makes the change from Earth to Voluspa, she becomes comfortable in her own skin and becomes more confident.  You can tell that she belongs in Voluspa and that it is her home. I love how Drake is not your typical bad boy but he is not a sweetheart all the time either. Over all what I got from was a sweet loving   guy that is head of heels in love Amy but still has his moments of anger and jealousy... and just happens to transform into a big scary ass dog....  
The supporting characters were great. They supported and helped the main characters while still being individuals  with problems and scars. My favorite supporting character had to be Jacek, because you get to know him the best  out of all the other supporting characters. 

The beginning is very hard to get into, I had to force myself through the first couple of chapters before I really started to enjoy the book. The plot goes at a fairly fast pace. Other than the beginning you will pretty much get sucked into the book. I will warned you though there is a HUGE cliffhanger at the end of the book which makes it very obvious that there is going to be a sequel.

This is a self published book, which means that there are spelling mistakes. Also the book format for self published book is different, so if  your big on grammar or does not like indie books this book is not for you!

Rating: 4 Roses

Friday, July 20, 2012

Hope's Daughter

Title: Hope's Daughter
Author: Melanie Cusick-Jones
Published by: Bookbaby{ in E-book form only}
Genre: YA, Romance, Dystopia
Favorite Quote: “It’s shocking to me that boys are where your thoughts are focused at this time in the morning, so unlike you.” 
Ami laughed off my sarcasm. “No need to be so grumpy, just get some make-up on those bags and you’ll be fine.”
“Sure, sure,” I agreed without enthusiasm.
“Oh! I know what I wanted to tell you – you’ll never guess who Thomas is chasing after now…”
Hmmm, never guess or can’t be bothered to guess – it was a hard call. I yawned again, glancing at the bed, which was inviting me to clamber back inside and pull the sheet over my head. So tempting, but not practical.”

Blurb: For the small population of Earth survivors who live on the Space Station Hope everything they do is planned and scheduled, down to the cyclical food menus, their roles in the station, even how many children they have. 

Despite rigid controls directing her life, Cassie feels more out of synch than ever and worries she won’t find a place for herself within the station community. Perhaps that’s because she’s hearing things inside her head that can’t possibly be real. Or maybe it’s the regular elopements of her peers, heading off to a romantic future in the Married Quarter of the space station, whilst she’s never even been attracted to a boy – no matter how hard her best friend Ami pushes them at her. Then there are the odd questions her work placement partner Balik keeps raising. His questions are just as troubling for her as his distracting smiles and eyes that seem to see inside her.

As Cassie draws closer to Balik she finds that everything else in her life begins to shift. He tells her things that call into question the system they live within. She can't believe he is right, but at the same time she finds it hard to deny the sincerity of his ideas. Could there be a connection between Cassie’s problems and Balik’s questions? The truth will drag them both to a terrifying and deadly conclusion beyond anything they could have imagined.

 My Review: 
This book was given to me by the author, Melanie Cusick-Jones, in exchange for an honest review.
Hope's Daughter is a Sc-fi dystopia with a surprisingly sweet romance.The main character Cassie lives in a space station with the last of Earth's survivors. Cassie is like any other teenager in the station except for the fact that she hears voices in her head. She hides this fact becasue she thinks somethingis wrong with her, however when she meets Balik he helps open her eyes and makes her realize it might the space station is not all that it seems...
The Romance:
The romance in this book is a perfect show of first love, its awkward, weird, and incredibly sweet. Balik and Cassie complement each other and when you read thier interactions it kind of puts a goofy little smile on your face. I like this because even if their in a space station away from earth more than 30 years in the future they still love like an teenager. Both these characters are very well thought out, they each make each other think in ways they never did before. Balik brings out  a braver stronger Cassie, while she brings out a softer sweeter Balik.  They are just adorable!
The Plot: The plot starts out  slow and calm and then WHAM! The plot suddenly speeds up and becomes a fast pace and exciting your always wondering whats the secret of the Space Station????? This book really keeps you keeps you on your toes until the every last page. This book is not predictable either so you really don't know whats going to happened next!

There was only one thing that kind of bothered me: I really didn't like how much Cassie doubted herself  everything that happened to her she would always try to make an excuses for which got annoying fast. But don't let that stop you from reading this book!

Rating: 5 Roses

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday[2]

This week's book is Clockwork Princess {The Infernal Devices #3}series by Cassandra Clare!
Cover:  This cover is gorgeous!!! I didn't really imagine Tessa looking like this but after seeing this cover I could totally believe this is Tessa. You know they say don't judge a book by its cover but  this cover is too beautiful to be ignored!
Content:  I have a lot of hope for this book. It is the final one in the series but we still have a lot of unanswered questions. I really hope Clare does not disappoint, I want this series to end with a bang!
Romance:  Team Will or Team Jem? This is an important question to the romantics that read these books{I'm probably the biggest one}. I know I have team Will on my page but I keep going back and forth between the two, they both seem like great guys for Tessa. But the thing I'm worried about is that Tessa is immortal while the guys are how will they stay together?

For those of you who have not read this sereis here is
the link to the first book:

So what do you guys think of today's pick? Leave your comments below!

Monday, July 16, 2012

Eye Candy Monday[2]

Today's eye candy is...Alex Fuentes.He is from the book Perfect Chemistry{ great book by the way 5/5 roses!}

This sexy Latino is a senior  who joined the Latino Blood to protect his family. He pulls out a bad boy looks for the world but in the inside he is sweet and wonderful. Luckily he has Brittany{ I know sorry girls he is taken :C}  a girl determined to crack the tough bad boy to find the amazing man inside. This is probably one of my favorite contemporary characters because of how protective he is of his family he would do anything for them.

If this was turned into a movie I would want this guy to play Alex:Sexy right?? Anyway leave comments below!

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Liebster Award! Go me!

Hi my viewers! I was nominated for this award by Cheerful Book Reviews. Thank you!
This award goes to any blogger with 200 followers or less.

Here's the rules:
1) Each person must post 11 random facts about themselves
2) Answer 11 questions the tagger has given you and give 11 questions for the people you tagged
3) Choose 11 people and link them in your post
4)Tell them you've tagged them
5) Remember, no tag backs
My Random Facts:
  1. I adore the band Arctic Monkeys{ I huge crush on Alex Turner}
  2. I have a fear of spiders
  3. I'm taking French{not a very fluent speaker though}
  4. I'm a straight A student [I take nerd to a whole new level]
  5. My favorite flower is a rose 
  6. My favorite superhero is Batman
  7. I want to be a doctor 
  8. I hate dark sodas{Pepsi, Coke, etc}
  9. My favorite number is 4
  10. I've never watched the Dark Knight 
  11. I just got my braces off 
Cheerful Book Reviews Questions:
1. When did you start reading?
I started reading when I was 4 but I didn't love it until I was 6 or 7
2. Who is your favorite book character ever? (Girl & Boy)
I have waay too many I just can't pick...maybe Nick Gautier from Chronicles of Nick?
3. Do you prefer YA books or adult? And what genre?
I think I prefer Ya books a little more: I love the paranormal genre I love escaping my old boring life to go to new worlds and places. 
4. Favorite stand alone book, and book series?
I don't really have a favorite stand alone but I have a couple of favorite book series: Chronicles of Nick, Bloodlines,The Infernal Devices, and The Mortal Instruments. I have more but I don't want to bore you :D
5. What is your biggest fear, and biggest dream?
My biggest dream is to live life in the fullest, so when I'm 90 years old I can look back and say,"It wasn't a perfect life but I proud of it," My biggest fear is that I will die before I can live.
6. One thing you just cannot live without?
Books, God knows where I would be with out them.
7. Favorite animal?
 Dragon[ shut up that counts...]
8. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you go?
England or New Orleans 
9. Vampires or Werewolves?
Werewolves, no cold bloodsucker for me!
10. How often to you read?
Any chance I get, really your most likely to see my head in a book than not.
11. If you could marry any book character (boy or girl) who would you pick?
Nick Gautier 

My Questions:

  1. E-Reader or Print?
  2. The book you wish you had a time machine for, so you could go into the future and get it is...
  3. What made you start blogging?
  4. If you had any superpower what would it be?
  5. Who is your favorite superhero?
  6. What movie can't you wait to see?
  7. Is this your first award?
  8. Are you going to watch the Olympics?
  9. Favorite kind of cookie?
  10. What instrument do you wish you could play?
  11. Favorite childhood book?

My Nominees:

  1. Teeny Reader
  2. Cause I Say So
  3. Framed In Words 
  4. Futures Fading 
  5. Its all About the Books
  6. Literary Love Affair
  7. Love & Bailey's 
  8. Magical Manuscripts 
  9. outRageous.pages
  10. Secret life of student
  11.  Sommerfugl Design
Leave me a link to your post, so I can read your answers!

Friday, July 13, 2012

Just the Sexiest Man Alive

Title: Just the Sexiest Man Alive

Author:  Julie James

Published by: Berkley

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Chick Lit

Favorite Quote:

  “Seriously, Taylor—do you know who I am?” he 

She smiled at this. “You celebrities actually say that? That’s cute.”

Blurb: Nothing fazes Taylor Donovan. In the courtroom, she never lets the opposition see her sweat. In her personal life, she never lets any man rattle her- not even her cheating ex-fiance. So when she's assigned to coach People's "Sexiest Man Alive" for his role in his next big legal thriller, she refuses to fall for the Hollywood heartthrob's charms. Even if he is the Jason Andrews.

Jason Andrews is used to having women fall at his feet. When Taylor Donovan gives him the cold shoulder, he's thrown for a loop. She's unlike any other woman he's ever met: uninterested in the limelight, seemingly immune to his advances, and shockingly capable of saying no to him. She's the perfect challenge. And the more she rejects him, the more he begins to realize she may just be his perfect match.

My Review: 

This is the first contemporary book I've read in a while! It was nice to leave the world of vampires, werewolves, and magic and come back to normal for a little while. This book was a very cute light summer read as you can probably tell by the blurb, it wouldn't make you cry or it would start a philosophical debate  but it will make you smile and shake your head and Hollywood life.

She was a great main character! She didn't let anybody walk all over her and had a huge smart mouth. She put Jason right in his place, and I could easily see why anybody would fall for her. I love how even though she is living every girls dream{ we have all dreamed of landing the hot movie star...} but she doesn't let it go to her head and think everything will just fall into place. I think she was the funniest character in this book making me smile throughout the whole book.

He is the typical hot, spoiled, player actor that every girl has a crush on. He was voted sexiest man of the year three times and it has totally gone over his head. The thing with Jason though is that even after he meets Taylor he is not suddenly this deep soulful sensitive guy. He is still a little bit of a jerk but is a nice guy. Personality he is not my type of guy but I could see the appeal in him.

Supporting characters:
The supporting characters did their jobs perfectly: They supported the main characters.  They help them realize important things, helped them fix their mistakes and got the story moving. Jeremy was my favorite supporting character probably because we see the most of him and get to know him the best. He is a good best friend to Jason and has funny lines in the story.

I'm giving this book 4 roses simply because it didn't have that wow factor. It was a good story but it didn't have that extra something that would make me recommend it to everyone I know. So if you’re looking for a light, fun, summer read this is the book for you!

Rating: 4 Roses