Blogger news

Blogroll

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Alex Teves



9news-

 Shooting victim Alex Teves recently earned his master's degree in counseling psychology from the University of Denver.

Tom Teves, Alex's father, confirmed his son's death to ABC News. A message left for Tom Teves by the Denver Post has not been returned.

Friends of Teves, 24, began posting on social media Friday night after learning Teves was among the 12 people killed in the Aurora movie theater shootings.

A friend, identified only as Caitlin on Twitter, posted messages on the social media network early Friday from the Century 16 theater, and wrote on Twitter early Saturday that Teves was, "One of the best men I ever knew. The world isn't as good a place without him." She also described Teves as a fan of the University of Arizona and Spider-Man.

An email message to Caitlin has not been returned.
A University of Denver spokeswoman said Teves, from Phoenix, Ariz., graduated in June. The University officially notified its students and faculty of Teves' death Saturday afternoon.

R.I.P Alex Teves 

AJ Boik



9news-

Authorities have confirmed that Alexander Jonathan (AJ) Boik was killed during Friday's movie theater shooting.
Boik's family released the following statement Saturday:

AJ Boik was a wonderful, handsome and loving eighteen year old young man with a warm and loving heart. He graduated from Gateway High School this year, where he had many friends.

He enjoyed his friends and family and always brought a smile and quick wit to every occasion. He was a talented young man who enjoyed baseball, making pottery and music. He was accepted at the Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design where he planned on attending classes in the fall. After completing college his dream was to become an art teacher and open his own studio. He was dating a beautiful young lady who was with him at the time and we are blessed that she survived this incident.

AJ was loved by all that knew him. We want to try and focus on the beautiful lives that were ended and not the evil that is responsible. This is a time for us to remember our loved ones and cherish the memories we have of them.

During this difficult time we ask that our family's privacy be respected. We are trying to move through this horrible ordeal. Our thoughts, prayers and love goes out to the other families of the victims and all those who have been touched by this senseless tragedy.
Donations in honor of AJ Boik can be made to the AJ Boik Memorial Fund at any Wells Fargo Bank branch.
R.I.P. AJ Boik

Eye Candy Monday{4} Simon Lewis

Even though I'm on team Jace if I had to pick a real life boyfriend I would pick Simon over Jace. He is your boy next door who will always be there for you no matter what you need. He is extremely loyal to his friends and family and will do anything for them: which is why I picked him for this week's Eye Candy Monday.





Simon Lewis: 

  • He plays bass guitar
  • His family is Jewish
  • 16 years old
  •  Vegetarian
  • He is a complete geek 
  • Brown hair and eyes




Quotes from Simon:
  • “Jesus!" Luke exclaimed.
    "Actually, it's just me," said Simon. "Although I've been told the resemblance is startling.” 

  • “Pretty soon the only people left without a girlfriend will be me and Wendell the school janitor, and he smells like windex."
    "At least you know he's still available.” 

  • “Hey," said Jace. who was sitting on an overturned speaker, looking at his cellphone, "do you want to see a photo of Alec and Magnus in Berlin?"
    "Not really," said Simon.
    "Magnus is wearing lederhosen."
    "And yet, still no.” 
  • “Thank you,” Simon said. “It’s a joke, Isabelle. He’s the Count. He likes counting. You know. ‘What did the Count eat today, children? One chocolate chip cookie, two chocolate chip cookies, three chocolate chip cookies . . .’”

    There was a rush of cold air as the door of the restaurant opened, letting in another customer. Isabelle shivered and reached for her black silk scarf. “It’s not realistic.”

    “What would you prefer? ‘What did the Count eat today, children? One helpless villager, two helpless villagers, three helpless villagers . . .” 
I know they already picked a different guy for Simon for next year's movie but I think Logan Lerman is a much better pick! What do you guys think?


In My Mailbox{1}




In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

This is a meme I'm going to try! Basically I'm going to write about all the books I'm reading\ going to read. 

Book I'm reading: 
 Blurb: Look at the person sitting just across from you. It doesn’t matter whether they’re a loved one, a friend, or a complete stranger.

Now look at their face. Are they happy? Are they sad? Or are they angry? Can you even tell?

How well do you actually know the people closest to you?

Have you ever seen the real person that lies just underneath what you see…?


I'm 60.8 % done with the book and I'm liking it so far! Expect a review soon.












 The Book I'll be reading soon:
Blurb:Being a trained killer, Kala can handle most things the world throws at her. However, when she murders her fiance, Kala's life is thrown into chaos. Forced to leave everything behind, she runs from city to city, in fear of her psychotic boss who is seeking her death. If that wasn't enough, she also has to cope with the re-appearance of her dead fiance who is struggling to keep a hold on his sanity as he strives for revenge


This sounds really good!! I'm expecting a kick-ass heroine !!!

Jon Blunk




9news-
The boss of one of the victims of the movie theater shooting said his employee was more than stellar.
Mark Kvidera says Jon Blunk was one of his best workers. He said Blunk was always 30 minutes early, so when he didn't show up to work on Friday, Mark knew something was wrong.

"The day before he was talking about going to see this movie," Kvidera said. "We didn't know where."

Kvidera's worst fears were confirmed by the woman who Jon was at the movies with.

"She said he basically covered her and pushed her down to save her and basically saved her life," Kvidera said. "Jon is the kind of guy that would save [someone]. It doesn't matter who is in harm's way, he is going to save them [and] protect them."

Blunk worked for Kvidera at his small flooring company. He says Blunk could light up a room.

"[He was] one of the kind of guys that walks into the shop everyday with a big smile on his face and brightens the atmosphere," Kvidera said.

Like many people in the community, Kvidera is trying to figure out a way to help those who are suffering. So, he's set up a Memorial Fund for Jon's children.

"He would have done it for any of his coworkers," Kvidera said. "He would have done it for anybody else."

Kvidera said Blunk was taking off Monday and Tuesday of next week to fly back to Reno to see his two-year-old and four-year-old.

"All he was talking about was going home to see his two kids, and then this happens," Kvidera said. "It's tragic."

If you'd like to make a donation to the Memorial Fund you can do so at any Wells Fargo locations in Jon Blunk's name.

R.I.P John Blunk 

Saturday, July 28, 2012

2012 London Olympic opening

Yesterday was the Olympic opening in London and it was amazing! For those of you who didn't watch it you missed out! My favorite part of the opening had to be when the Arctic Monkeys{ one of my favorite bands} played Come Together by the Beatles. What were your favorite parts of the ceremony? Leave comments below!


Jesse Childress

From 9news- The Air Force says a reservist was among the victims killed in the shootings at a Colorado movie theater.

An Air Force statement released Saturday said 29-year-old Staff Sgt. Jesse Childress was among the 12 killed when a gunman opened fire early Friday in a crowded theater in Aurora, Colo.

Childress was a cyber-systems operator at Buckley Air Force Base.

The Air Force says another reservist was treated and released after being wounded at the shootings.

I'm very sorry what happened to you and thank you for your service .

R.I.P. Jesse Childress

Friday, July 27, 2012

Other Systems

Title: Other Systems
Author:  Elizabeth Guizzetti
Published by: 48Fourteen {e-book only}
Genre: Sci-fi, Adult{or older\mature YA},
Favorite Quote: Cole said, " Two granddaughters without having to change a single diaper. This is the best fucking day of my life."
Blurb: Ten large ships race toward Earth, broadcasting in every language: "Brothers and sisters, we come in peace and in need. We have found our way home." The fear of a coming invasion begins the worldwide riots of 3062. 

Yet, not all Earthlings fear attack. The newcomers, long lost descendants of Earth, speak of a paradise ninety-four light years away. Kipos is a land of plenty where there has never been hunger, murder, or war. However, they need more healthy young immigrants for the colony to thrive.

Many accept their offer to be tested. After assessment, Abby Boyd Lei is among the chosen. She leaves the protection of her family with dreams of higher education, a good job, and a kind-hearted spouse.

Will Kipos be everything she imagined? Abby is about to discover the cost of utopia.

My Review:
This book was given to me by the author for an honest review. 
Wow! This book is really intense, I was expecting a YA book with a light fluffy story about space. Boy was I wrong! This book deals with topics such as rape, and homosexuality, there is also a lot of cussing in this book. I would not recommend it for a younger reader, or a reader who has not reading mature books.

Abby  is timid and scared and I got easily frustrated with her, but then I realized that after such a traumatizing experience I can't expect her to be  100% normal. As the story goes along she becomes more confident and more fun to read. As for the romance... there isn't one!
Its such a relief  to find a sci-fi book that's not all about romance! I mean don't get me wrong I love romance book as much as the next girl, but its nice to have the book  be all about Abby and her struggles on this new planet than about Abby and her romantic life. It's also really nice because instead of Abby finding a guy and living happily ever after she finds something even better- a family. Don't except a happily ever after in this book, the people that go to Kipos will forever have to live with their consequences but things will get better and sometimes that's all you can ask for. 






Rating: 4 Roses 










I will have an interview with Author Elizabeth Guizzetti up soon! 

Matt McQuinn

Matt McQuinn died saving his girlfriends life in that Aurora movie theater. Luckily she only has an  injury and is recovering in the hospital. I don't know much about him which is why this one will be so short but I hope his girlfriend heals and is able to move on from this trauma. May you rest in peace Matt McQuinn.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

John Larimer


John Larimer was one of the serive members that was killed in the Aurora shooting. He was a 27-year-old Navy sailor. This killing is espically sading to me  because as a sailor, you know there is a big possiblity of you dieing on forgein soil for your country, but intead you die on home land by a person you risked your life for so he had the freedom to buy the gun he shot you with."He was an outstanding shipmate, a valued member of our Navy team, and an extremely dedicated sailor," Cmdr. Jeffrey Jakuboski said of Larimer.{ http://www.9news.com/news/story.aspx?storyid=278984}

Rest In Peace John Larimer, and thank you for your service.


Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Micayla Medek


This woman was only 23 when she died from the injures she got from the shooting. 23! She was in college still and so much to look forward too. Job, husband, kids, and its been all taken away from her. It was her dream to go to India, she was saving money to take a trip there. She was described as a very independent soul and even though she was the youngest of three she was determined to make her own way. This something that her father said that really sticks with me:  After Medek went missing, her parents waited for news all day Friday -- torture for Greg Medek, 49, who paced the house thinking about his baby, "my sweetheart angel girl," a brown-eyed brunet with an open face who loved Hello Kitty, hot pink, fairies and boas and Beanie Babies.{http://www.latimes.com/news/nation/nationnow/la-na-nn-colorado-shooting-micayla-medek-20120721,0,6979871.story}

I pray that her family and friends can move on from their grieve and I hope the shooter regrets taking such a beautiful from us.Micayla Medek

Waiting on Wednesday{3} The Indigo Spell

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)   
IT HAS A COVER!!!!!!!!! I can't cannot wait for this book to come out!!! I'm going to kill Richelle Mead for leaving us with us a horrible cliffhanger. I really don't know if I can wait until 2013 for this book!!! The minute this book comes out I'm racing to the nearest book store and reading this book. I know this Waiting on Wednesday post is all gushy and random  but I can't help it this is one of my favorite series! I'm TOTALLY team Adrain which is why the cliffhanger really killed me. What do you guys think of this book? Are you guys as excited as I am? Leave some comments below!

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Jessica Ghawi

Jessica Ghawi 
Jessica Ghawi's, who was one of the victims of this tragedy, last words was in the form  of a tweet:

For Ghawi, a 24-year-old aspiring sportscaster who worked under the name Jessica Redfield, the public words in those last minutes are her bantering with a magazine hockey writer about being among the first to see the highly anticipated Batman movie, "The Dark Knight Rises."

"You aren't seeing it tonight?!" Ghawi asks Sporting News hockey writer Jesse Spector on Twitter.

"Nope," he replies.

Ghawi then jokes that Spector is a loser, and he retorts that that's why she's tweeting and not at the movie. Ghawi replies with her final tweet, in all caps: "MOVIE DOESN'T START FOR 20 MINUTES." It was, though she of course didn't realize it, her last public statement. {http://www.9news.com/rss/story.aspx?storyid=279132}

The one thing that stood out to me, and the one thing I will remember her by is the beautiful words her brother said about her: "My sister is a fighter... she's listened to her heart," Ghawi said. "I want people to remember that heart and remember the good things that she's done; remember that smile and what her possibilities, what her prospectives, what she could have done in the future." {http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/07/20/157128444/the-tragedy-of-jessica-ghawi-spared-in-toronto-she-died-in-colorado-shooting}

R.I.P Jessica Ghawi, may we all remember you by your fighting spirit and beautiful smile.

Monday, July 23, 2012

Ray East(Author of Voluspa-A Magical World) Guest Post

Why write a book like ‘Voluspa – A Magical World’? Like countless other teenage girls, I had a difficult time during my pre-teen and early teen years. I had major body issues and even suffered with eating disorders. During these years, I often fantasized about escaping to an alternate universe where I could start life afresh or find acceptance. My imagination was further fuelled by the countless number of books I devoured growing up, especially since they were my only constant companions. Thus when the time came to put words down to paper, I found myself creating a fantasy world – a place so magical that it had the power to heal even the most troubled souls.


Talking about troubled souls, the main two protagonists of my story, Amy and Drake, definitely fit the bill. Amy has a hard childhood, feeling unwanted and unloved whereas Drake’s childhood is shadowed by impossibly high expectations imposed on him by his father. The two meet when Amy crosses over realms to land up in Voluspa and they connect from the very beginning. They find a kindred spirit in each other and like two halves of a whole, they complete each other. But their relationship is taboo as per the law in Voluspa. One of the questions that this book subtly puts forward is whether individual freedom is sacrosanct or should it take a backseat when it comes to greater good of the land and people. This story also puts a new spin on the age old battle between good and evil. Circumstances force both Amy and Drake to do certain things which one could consider a touch shy of evil. But at no time does their love for each other diminish and whatever they do is born out of a need to protect or help the other.


One could say that this is a story of two star crossed lovers set against a magical backdrop of an enchanted land. However, the world of Voluspa in not a Utopic one; like most known civilizations it has its own problems. Despotic leaders, wars, arbitrate laws; all weave themselves to create a rich tapestry of life that forms the backdrop of this story. The story borrows from mythology to give it an authentic tone. It is multi layered and I believe would appeal to a broad spectrum of age.


At present I am working on the next book in the Voluspa series. This book finds a changed Drake. His ordeals with Lord Vali has changed him permanently and no matter how much he wishes, there is no going back for him. He is now faced with the challenge of carving out a new life for himself away from Voluspa, away from Amy. But Amy is not one to accept loosing Drake so easily; she is determined to save Drake no matter what the cost. Now that the secret of her birth is out, she also has to contend with the wrath of the council members. In the meantime Lord Vali continues with his quest to resurrect his demonic leader using Drake and the book. To find out what happens to Amy and Drake and their forbidden love wait for the next book in Voluspa – A Magical World.






Alex Sullivan


Alex Sullivan is one of the twelve victims to die in the century 16 shooting. Alex was out watching "The Dark Knight Rises" to celebrate his 27th birthday.“Oh man one hour till the movie and its going to be the best BIRTHDAY ever,” is what Sullivan tweeted right before the premiere. "The Sullivan family lost a cherished member of their family today,Alex was smart, funny, and above all loved dearly by his friends and family." said the family. Whats even worse is that two days after Sullivan died, he was planning to celebrate his one year with his wife Cassandra. 
I know this is not anything special and does not even tell half of his story but I'm grieving and praying for his family,  and anyone else who is suffereing the lose of this great man I don't know what its like to lose someone this close to you but I just want to say that Aurora is completely behind this family, ready to hello them whenever they need it.


If you want to read more on Alex Sullivan: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/alex-sullivan-12-aurora-victims-died-27th-birthday-article-1.1119138

http://www.denverpost.com/breakingnews/ci_21128465/alex-sullivan-remembered-many-friends-he-loved

Eye Candy Monday{3} Adrian Ivashkov


This week's eye candy is one of my favorite characters in one of my favorite series! This week's Eye Candy is Adrian Ivashkov from the Bloodlines series. He may seem like a typical bad boy but inside he is caring and loving: he just needs to find the right girl to open that side of him...

Adrain Ivashkov:

  • He can dream-walk.                                                  
  • He has brown hair and deep green eyes
  • He was in love with Rose Hathaway 
  • Around 6-2
  • Comes from money and is an artist 
  •  He is Moroi 
  • From a royal family 




Quotes from Adrain:

  • “You've asked me out tons of times."
"Not really. I've made inappropriate suggestions and frequently pushed for nudity. But I've never asked you out on a real date.”

  • “I know how devastated you must be to miss me, but leave a message, and I'll try to ease your agony” 


  • “My God, Sage. Your eyes. How have I never noticed them?"

That uncomfortable feeling was spreading over me again. "What about them?"

"The color," he breathed. "When you stand in the light. They're amazing... like molten gold. I could paint those..." He reached toward me but then pulled back. "They're beautiful. You're beautiful.”

What do you think about this week's Eye Candy Monday? Leave comments below!

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Aurora Shooting

As I'm writing this I'm about to cry a river. I'm sure many of you have heard of the shooting that happened in the century 16 movie theater in Aurora, Colorado. This is my  home town and it really is hitting me hard, this is a place me and my friends go to hang out for years its really like a landmark for the people of Aurora and is such a shock for all of us.  So in honor of the victims,  starting tomorrow for the next 12 days I will be doing posts in memory of the victims that have died in this tragedy, one day for each victim. I will be putting these posts on goodreads and twitter as well. I would love if you would help me spread the message but if you don't that's also fine with me.
May you all have a amazing day,
Beza

VOLUSPA- A Magical World

Title: Voluspa: A Magical World
Author: Sam D & Ray East 
Published by: Self Published 
Genre:YA, Fantasy, Romance
Favorite Quote: " Every time she had found refuge in some book...Almost always she would get so absorbed in the plot or characters of the book that she would block out the reality"
Blurb: Harry Potter meets Divergent.
Amy, a forlorn fifteen year old girl from NYC, never thought that she would attend school on a magical mountain with wild animals as her classmates and that she would go to a prom on a flying carpet. Its love at first sight when Drake- a shape shifter rescues her from a pre-historic beast and befriends her. Little does she know that Drake’s father is the tyrannical leader who has always wanted Amy and her kind dead. In her struggle to challenge the supremacy in the magical world, she realizes her powers, confronts aspects about herself that she may not be comfortable with, makes lasting friends while excelling in her school - something which she had not been able to do in her human world. All hell breaks loose, as Drake goes missing and Voluspan mercenaries try to hunt Amy down. Amy and her friends use strategic warfare, pit adversaries among themselves and use every last drop of strength, skill and courage as they take on warriors far more ruthless and skilled than themselves. But Amy is in for a rude shock when she finally finds Drake.

My Review:
This book was given to me by Ray East in exchange for an honest review.
The main character Amy just lost her step father and goes to live with her grandmother. When she is at her grandmother's she finds a book that transports her to another realm called Voluspa, and this is where all the adventure starts...

Cover: I really dislike the cover for this book! It makes the book look like its for middle schoolers  rather than for young adults. However I'm really glad Ray asked to review this book because I probably would not have read the book other wise{ I know I know don't judge a book by its cover, but I can't help it!}

Characters:
Amy is fifteen and at first its really hard to forget that. Espescally since Drake is 17. But as the story goes along Amy starts acting older and more mature I forget that her and Drake are 3 years apart. Its not just that she acts older, when she makes the change from Earth to Voluspa, she becomes comfortable in her own skin and becomes more confident.  You can tell that she belongs in Voluspa and that it is her home. I love how Drake is not your typical bad boy but he is not a sweetheart all the time either. Over all what I got from was a sweet loving   guy that is head of heels in love Amy but still has his moments of anger and jealousy... and just happens to transform into a big scary ass dog....  
The supporting characters were great. They supported and helped the main characters while still being individuals  with problems and scars. My favorite supporting character had to be Jacek, because you get to know him the best  out of all the other supporting characters. 

Plot:
The beginning is very hard to get into, I had to force myself through the first couple of chapters before I really started to enjoy the book. The plot goes at a fairly fast pace. Other than the beginning you will pretty much get sucked into the book. I will warned you though there is a HUGE cliffhanger at the end of the book which makes it very obvious that there is going to be a sequel.

Warning:  
This is a self published book, which means that there are spelling mistakes. Also the book format for self published book is different, so if  your big on grammar or does not like indie books this book is not for you!

Rating: 4 Roses




Friday, July 20, 2012

Hope's Daughter

Title: Hope's Daughter
Author: Melanie Cusick-Jones
Published by: Bookbaby{ in E-book form only}
Genre: YA, Romance, Dystopia
Favorite Quote: “It’s shocking to me that boys are where your thoughts are focused at this time in the morning, so unlike you.” 
Ami laughed off my sarcasm. “No need to be so grumpy, just get some make-up on those bags and you’ll be fine.”
“Sure, sure,” I agreed without enthusiasm.
“Oh! I know what I wanted to tell you – you’ll never guess who Thomas is chasing after now…”
Hmmm, never guess or can’t be bothered to guess – it was a hard call. I yawned again, glancing at the bed, which was inviting me to clamber back inside and pull the sheet over my head. So tempting, but not practical.”

Blurb: For the small population of Earth survivors who live on the Space Station Hope everything they do is planned and scheduled, down to the cyclical food menus, their roles in the station, even how many children they have. 

Despite rigid controls directing her life, Cassie feels more out of synch than ever and worries she won’t find a place for herself within the station community. Perhaps that’s because she’s hearing things inside her head that can’t possibly be real. Or maybe it’s the regular elopements of her peers, heading off to a romantic future in the Married Quarter of the space station, whilst she’s never even been attracted to a boy – no matter how hard her best friend Ami pushes them at her. Then there are the odd questions her work placement partner Balik keeps raising. His questions are just as troubling for her as his distracting smiles and eyes that seem to see inside her.

As Cassie draws closer to Balik she finds that everything else in her life begins to shift. He tells her things that call into question the system they live within. She can't believe he is right, but at the same time she finds it hard to deny the sincerity of his ideas. Could there be a connection between Cassie’s problems and Balik’s questions? The truth will drag them both to a terrifying and deadly conclusion beyond anything they could have imagined.

 My Review: 
This book was given to me by the author, Melanie Cusick-Jones, in exchange for an honest review.
Hope's Daughter is a Sc-fi dystopia with a surprisingly sweet romance.The main character Cassie lives in a space station with the last of Earth's survivors. Cassie is like any other teenager in the station except for the fact that she hears voices in her head. She hides this fact becasue she thinks somethingis wrong with her, however when she meets Balik he helps open her eyes and makes her realize it might the space station is not all that it seems...
The Romance:
The romance in this book is a perfect show of first love, its awkward, weird, and incredibly sweet. Balik and Cassie complement each other and when you read thier interactions it kind of puts a goofy little smile on your face. I like this because even if their in a space station away from earth more than 30 years in the future they still love like an teenager. Both these characters are very well thought out, they each make each other think in ways they never did before. Balik brings out  a braver stronger Cassie, while she brings out a softer sweeter Balik.  They are just adorable!
The Plot: The plot starts out  slow and calm and then WHAM! The plot suddenly speeds up and becomes a fast pace and exciting your always wondering whats the secret of the Space Station????? This book really keeps you keeps you on your toes until the every last page. This book is not predictable either so you really don't know whats going to happened next!

There was only one thing that kind of bothered me: I really didn't like how much Cassie doubted herself  everything that happened to her she would always try to make an excuses for which got annoying fast. But don't let that stop you from reading this book!

Rating: 5 Roses


Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday[2]

This week's book is Clockwork Princess {The Infernal Devices #3}series by Cassandra Clare!
Cover:  This cover is gorgeous!!! I didn't really imagine Tessa looking like this but after seeing this cover I could totally believe this is Tessa. You know they say don't judge a book by its cover but  this cover is too beautiful to be ignored!
Content:  I have a lot of hope for this book. It is the final one in the series but we still have a lot of unanswered questions. I really hope Clare does not disappoint, I want this series to end with a bang!
Romance:  Team Will or Team Jem? This is an important question to the romantics that read these books{I'm probably the biggest one}. I know I have team Will on my page but I keep going back and forth between the two, they both seem like great guys for Tessa. But the thing I'm worried about is that Tessa is immortal while the guys are not...so how will they stay together?

For those of you who have not read this sereis here is
the link to the first book: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7171637-clockwork-angel

So what do you guys think of today's pick? Leave your comments below!

Monday, July 16, 2012

Eye Candy Monday[2]

Today's eye candy is...Alex Fuentes.He is from the book Perfect Chemistry{ great book by the way 5/5 roses!}

This sexy Latino is a senior  who joined the Latino Blood to protect his family. He pulls out a bad boy looks for the world but in the inside he is sweet and wonderful. Luckily he has Brittany{ I know sorry girls he is taken :C}  a girl determined to crack the tough bad boy to find the amazing man inside. This is probably one of my favorite contemporary characters because of how protective he is of his family he would do anything for them.

If this was turned into a movie I would want this guy to play Alex:Sexy right?? Anyway leave comments below!

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Liebster Award! Go me!



Hi my viewers! I was nominated for this award by Cheerful Book Reviews. Thank you!
This award goes to any blogger with 200 followers or less.

Here's the rules:
1) Each person must post 11 random facts about themselves
2) Answer 11 questions the tagger has given you and give 11 questions for the people you tagged
3) Choose 11 people and link them in your post
4)Tell them you've tagged them
5) Remember, no tag backs
My Random Facts:
  1. I adore the band Arctic Monkeys{ I huge crush on Alex Turner}
  2. I have a fear of spiders
  3. I'm taking French{not a very fluent speaker though}
  4. I'm a straight A student [I take nerd to a whole new level]
  5. My favorite flower is a rose 
  6. My favorite superhero is Batman
  7. I want to be a doctor 
  8. I hate dark sodas{Pepsi, Coke, etc}
  9. My favorite number is 4
  10. I've never watched the Dark Knight 
  11. I just got my braces off 
Cheerful Book Reviews Questions:
1. When did you start reading?
I started reading when I was 4 but I didn't love it until I was 6 or 7
2. Who is your favorite book character ever? (Girl & Boy)
I have waay too many I just can't pick...maybe Nick Gautier from Chronicles of Nick?
3. Do you prefer YA books or adult? And what genre?
I think I prefer Ya books a little more: I love the paranormal genre I love escaping my old boring life to go to new worlds and places. 
4. Favorite stand alone book, and book series?
I don't really have a favorite stand alone but I have a couple of favorite book series: Chronicles of Nick, Bloodlines,The Infernal Devices, and The Mortal Instruments. I have more but I don't want to bore you :D
5. What is your biggest fear, and biggest dream?
My biggest dream is to live life in the fullest, so when I'm 90 years old I can look back and say,"It wasn't a perfect life but I proud of it," My biggest fear is that I will die before I can live.
6. One thing you just cannot live without?
Books, God knows where I would be with out them.
7. Favorite animal?
 Dragon[ shut up that counts...]
8. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you go?
England or New Orleans 
9. Vampires or Werewolves?
Werewolves, no cold bloodsucker for me!
10. How often to you read?
Any chance I get, really your most likely to see my head in a book than not.
11. If you could marry any book character (boy or girl) who would you pick?
Nick Gautier 

My Questions:

  1. E-Reader or Print?
  2. The book you wish you had a time machine for, so you could go into the future and get it is...
  3. What made you start blogging?
  4. If you had any superpower what would it be?
  5. Who is your favorite superhero?
  6. What movie can't you wait to see?
  7. Is this your first award?
  8. Are you going to watch the Olympics?
  9. Favorite kind of cookie?
  10. What instrument do you wish you could play?
  11. Favorite childhood book?

My Nominees:

  1. Teeny Reader
  2. Cause I Say So
  3. Framed In Words 
  4. Futures Fading 
  5. Its all About the Books
  6. Literary Love Affair
  7. Love & Bailey's 
  8. Magical Manuscripts 
  9. outRageous.pages
  10. Secret life of student
  11.  Sommerfugl Design
Leave me a link to your post, so I can read your answers!

Friday, July 13, 2012

Just the Sexiest Man Alive

Title: Just the Sexiest Man Alive


Author:  Julie James

Published by: Berkley


Genre: Contemporary Romance, Chick Lit


Favorite Quote:


  “Seriously, Taylor—do you know who I am?” he 
demanded.

She smiled at this. “You celebrities actually say that? That’s cute.”

Blurb: Nothing fazes Taylor Donovan. In the courtroom, she never lets the opposition see her sweat. In her personal life, she never lets any man rattle her- not even her cheating ex-fiance. So when she's assigned to coach People's "Sexiest Man Alive" for his role in his next big legal thriller, she refuses to fall for the Hollywood heartthrob's charms. Even if he is the Jason Andrews.


Jason Andrews is used to having women fall at his feet. When Taylor Donovan gives him the cold shoulder, he's thrown for a loop. She's unlike any other woman he's ever met: uninterested in the limelight, seemingly immune to his advances, and shockingly capable of saying no to him. She's the perfect challenge. And the more she rejects him, the more he begins to realize she may just be his perfect match.






My Review: 



This is the first contemporary book I've read in a while! It was nice to leave the world of vampires, werewolves, and magic and come back to normal for a little while. This book was a very cute light summer read as you can probably tell by the blurb, it wouldn't make you cry or it would start a philosophical debate  but it will make you smile and shake your head and Hollywood life.

Taylor:
She was a great main character! She didn't let anybody walk all over her and had a huge smart mouth. She put Jason right in his place, and I could easily see why anybody would fall for her. I love how even though she is living every girls dream{ we have all dreamed of landing the hot movie star...} but she doesn't let it go to her head and think everything will just fall into place. I think she was the funniest character in this book making me smile throughout the whole book.


Jason:
He is the typical hot, spoiled, player actor that every girl has a crush on. He was voted sexiest man of the year three times and it has totally gone over his head. The thing with Jason though is that even after he meets Taylor he is not suddenly this deep soulful sensitive guy. He is still a little bit of a jerk but is a nice guy. Personality he is not my type of guy but I could see the appeal in him.

Supporting characters:
The supporting characters did their jobs perfectly: They supported the main characters.  They help them realize important things, helped them fix their mistakes and got the story moving. Jeremy was my favorite supporting character probably because we see the most of him and get to know him the best. He is a good best friend to Jason and has funny lines in the story.

I'm giving this book 4 roses simply because it didn't have that wow factor. It was a good story but it didn't have that extra something that would make me recommend it to everyone I know. So if you’re looking for a light, fun, summer read this is the book for you!

Rating: 4 Roses 










Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Eye Candy Monday :D

Hi my viewers!!! I have decided  to do a new post every Monday called eye candy Monday!! In these posts I will pick one book character who I think is major eye candy. I know today it not Monday sorry I was busy and have to do this post a little late.

Today's Eye Candy is... Jace Lightwood!!

Books he is from: Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

Description:Jace has fine curly gold blond hair and eyes that look gold in the light with long eyelashes. He has a slim, muscular build, and is about 5'11" in height. His face is described as being beautiful, sexy, gorgeous and angular, and Clary often refers to him as beautiful and leonine, with a narrow mouth. Like all other Shadowhunters, he is covered in thin, silver scars from years of applying various magical runes with a stele for battle and healing purposes, as well as permanent runes. 


PersonalityThe archetypal Byronic hero, Jace gives the impression of holding most people in disdain but is quite chivalrous toward women. His charisma, good looks and charm have made him quite the ladies' man and he is somewhat promiscuous. He never forms emotional attachments for more than a short period of time, if at all.






I got all this info from this site: http://shadowhunters.wikia.com/wiki/Jace_Lightwood

So you guys what do you think of the hunk if the week? Leave your thoughts below!!

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Strange Angels (Strange Angels #1)

Title: Strange Angels
Author: Lili St. Crow
Published by: Razorbill
Genre:YA,Vampires,Werewolfs,Romance 
Favorite quote:“I guess since the groin is the center of a guy's world, he rarely guesses it isn't the center of yours.” 
Blurb:
In Strange Angels, Dru Anderson has what her grandmother called “the touch.” (Comes in handy when you’re traveling from town to town with your dad, hunting ghosts, suckers, wulfen, and the occasional zombie.)

Then her dad turns up dead—but still walking—and Dru knows she’s next. Even worse, she’s got two guys hungry for her affections, and they’re not about to let the fiercely independent Dru go it alone. Will Dru discover just how special she really is before coming face-to-fang with whatever—orwhoever— is hunting her

My Review:
When I was at my local library {I swear I go there so much I think they know me by name!} I saw this book, and remembered it is getting so good feedback from Goodreads so I checked it out. This book was a little bit of a disappointment, let me explain why.

Part 1:
I think of this book in two parts part 1 and part 2. In part one honesty I was ready to give this book 2 roses!! The writing was very simple and I felt like I was reading something my friends would write, granted my friends are great writers but they have not been writing very long and that's what it feels like when I read Lili's writing. The plot was moving at a slow pace for me I really just wanted to say," Do something already!" Also the way Dru treated Graves pissed me off, she treated him like a little 5 year old kid and even in her mind in she was calling him a kid!! I mean really, this guy gives you a place to a warm place to stay and some food- which by the way you can't seem do-and you act like he is in middle school? That’s rude in my opinion. Also it get annoying how she is always mentioning how hot Graves will be. It gets really annoying, it’s like Lili is trying to say              “Don’t worry! He will get hot later so Dru can be attracted to him now!" Don't get me tried with Dru!! From the cover I was hoping for a bad-ass -kick -paranormal- butt character but Dru seem to completely forget everything her father taught her I understand she misses her dad and is grieving but I want her to be independent!!


Part 2:
The reason I call this part two is because for some reason Lili suddenly changes her writing style a little bit here. It becomes a little more complex and more interesting to read. Also she becomes a little more independent and she stops talking about how hot Graves will be. But I find it really funny that Christophe {O.K. so what’s with the weird spelling?} treats Dru the same way she treats Graves: like a 12 year old kid. In my mind whenever Christophe treats Dru like that in my mind I'm just thinking that's karma bitch!!


So since part 2 was better I have decided to give this book 3 Roses!! If I decide to read the 2nd book it’s only to see if it gets any better.







Saturday, July 7, 2012

Giveaway :D

Hey everyone! Just wanted to let you know that a blog I follow is having a giveaway for the book  The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater!!

Here is the link: http://thereadersden.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/review-and-giveaway-raven-boys-by.html

P.S. Come look at my blog tomorrow I'll have a new book review...promise!

Friday, July 6, 2012

Infamous (Chronicles of Nick #3)

Title: Infamous 
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Published by: St. Martin's Griffin
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance 

BlurbThe world has fallen in love with Nick Gautier and the Dark-Hunters. Now Nick’s saga continues in the next eagerly anticipated volume...

Go to school. Get good grades. Stay out of trouble. That’s the mandate for most kids. But Nick Gautier isn’t the average teenager. He’s a boy with a destiny not even he fully understands. And his first mandate is to stay alive while everyone, even his own father, tries to kill him.

He’s learned to annihilate zombies and raise the dead, divination and clairvoyance, so why is learning to drive such a difficulty? But that isn’t the primary skill he has to master. Survival is.

And in order to survive, his next lesson makes all the others pale in comparison. He is on the brink of becoming either the greatest hero mankind has ever known.

Or he’ll be the one who ends the world. With enemies new and old gathering forces, he will have to call on every part of himself to fight or he’ll lose everyone he cares about.

Even himself.


My Review:


For those of you who do not know what this series is here is a link to the first book: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6696602-infinity.I read the second book Invincible almost a year ago and almost forgot about this series {I know shame on me...} but luckily it was brought to my attention, so here I am reviewing this book after I spent only a day reading it.

Let me start with Nick, this review may turn into a gush fest for Nick but I can't help it! He is so...perfect! He is smart, sweet, protective, and a bit {O.K. maybe a lot} of a smart ass but that just makes him even more charming! You see him fighting his inner demon trying to overcome the obstacles even though he knows that his future is a grim, lonely one this makes him really strong and optimistic. He is always there for his friends and always keeps his word. Sadly however for him his love is a weakness because his enemies will attack his love ones to hurt him. So the safest bet for him and his love ones if he closed his heart and didn't love them anymore. But no my Nick {yes mine ALL MINE!} wouldn't give up his human side cause he knows it’s a miracle for his to love in the first place. I’m officially jealous of Kody!

Speaking of Kody I didn't really like her {and not just cause she is dating my man...} she is just so bland to me. I like that she helps Nick conquer his dark side but I feel like that's all she is good for. She feels more like a supporting character than the female lead. I really hope Kenyon works on that.

Another thing Kenyon needs to work on is the story plot is just SO DAMN CONFUSING!! I have read the Dark Hunter series {yes all of them *Bush*...} so I think she is adding way too many elements into these series that it gets really confusing. Also I very curious to see how she will tie this series to the Dark Hunter one because already a bunch of things have changed.

Rating; 5 Roses

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday

Hey everyone! I've seen a lot of Waiting on Wednesday posts so I thought I would do my own!

This Wednesday book is:

Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure (Maximum Ride #8)


Blurb:
One last chance...
For Max, Fang, Angel, Iggy, Nudge, and Gazzy.
Before it all ends.

Are you ready for the final chapter? Are you ready for the ultimate flight? Because THIS IS IT. One last incredible, explosive adventure with an astonishing ending that no one could have seen coming.

Very short blurb I know but hopefully it gets longer closer to the publication date{ which is August 6th }. For those of you that have not read this series DO IT!!! Believe me its worth it.Are you guys excited for this book too? What are you hoping happens? Leave comments down below.

Happy 4th of July to the Americans out there!


Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Little Brother

Title: Little Brother
Author: Cory Doctorow
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, 
Favorite quote: “Never underestimate the determination of a kid who is time-rich and cash-poor.” 


Blurb: 

Marcus, a.k.a “w1n5t0n,” is only seventeen years old, but he figures he already knows how the system works–and how to work the system. Smart, fast, and wise to the ways of the networked world, he has no trouble outwitting his high school’s intrusive but clumsy surveillance systems.

But his whole world changes when he and his friends find themselves caught in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco. In the wrong place at the wrong time, Marcus and his crew are apprehended by the Department of Homeland Security and whisked away to a secret prison where they’re mercilessly interrogated for days.

When the DHS finally releases them, Marcus discovers that his city has become a police state where every citizen is treated like a potential terrorist. He knows that no one will believe his story, which leaves him only one option: to take down the DHS himself.




                                              My Review:
This book was assigned to me for summer homework{ what is wrong with these people?} so like every other rational teenager I was not going to  do it til last minute! Sadly, however  my inner nerd would not shut up and kept nagging me to do it. So I read it and it surpassed my expectations. I was expecting a boring I-want-to-kill-this-author book, but it was actually very interesting!!!!   

I feel in love with the main character Marcus,  when he stops a car to get medical help for his friend he had no idea it wold change his life forever. I love how much Marcus changes through this whole book but still stays true to himself. He greatly matures from the young, smart mouth kid to an amazing smart mouth leader. He is a reluctant leader but in my opinion those are the best kind. But the fighting for freedom thing is only one part of Marcus's story. You see him dealing with his naive dad and falling in love with an amazing girl. 

There are a lot of amazing quotes that I just love from this book, some funny some more serious.There are a lot of amazing books out there some make you cry, others laugh, but this makes you think. Hours after I finished this book I was still thinking about it and not many books can do that to me.

Side Note:

Cory dedicates each of his chapters to a different bookstore. One of which is a favorite of mine see if you can find it :D


Sorry for the short review I have not been feeling well lately and was not up to it to write a super long one.

Rating: 5 Roses